Kansas Sporting Clays Association 2008 Annual Meeting

The 2008 meeting was called to order by President Jeff Sammons in the Oaks Room at Flint Oaks. Roll Call of Officers present: Vice President Scott Young, Secretary Jan Koehler, Treasurer Robert Quaney, Website Administrator Eileene Duryee and NSCA Kansas National Delegate Jim Greenwood.

Secretary Jan Koehler read the 2007 KSSCA Annual State Meeting Minutes that had been prepared by President Jeff Sammons, as she had not received minutes from the previous secretary when she received the secretary's records after the meeting last year. A motion was made by Debra Taylor to approve them as read. Motion was seconded and passed.

Treasurer Robert Quaney presented the 2007 Shooting Year Financial Report. Richard Miller then made a motion to approve them and the motion was seconded. Motion carried.

A report was made about a Kansas State All-Points Race that President Sammons suggested to the board of directors. Lots of good discussion pursued on the suggestion with questions on how the race would be funded. Discussion also centered on how points would carry between classes when a shooter would move up. It was suggested that examples and the idea be put on the Web Site for further discussion by the full membership. Also it was discussed that this would be another way to have a Kansas State Team. Discussion finished with a motion by Debra Taylor and seconded by Joy Nelson to redo some of the proposal and then put it out on the website for further fine tuning before it would go to the members for a vote. Motion carried.

The Nomination Committee reported on candidates for the three offices that are up for election this year:

Vice President – Dennis Horner, Edward McNally and Scott Young Publicity Director – Jason Purinton Web Site Administrator – Eileene Duryee No other Unfinished Business was presented. Ballots Results:

It was reported that 167 ballots had been returned, with 162 eligible ballots and 5 ineligible ballots, as 5 did not have any votes on them or that they were not signed.

For the election of officers of the Board of Directors:

Vice President – Dennis Horner – 69, Edward McNally – 43, Scott Young – 38 Publicity Director – Jason Purinton – 131 Web Site Administrator – Eileene Duryee 135 Awarding of the 2008 Annual State Tournaments:

2009 Kansas State Sporting Clays Tournament: Cedar Hill #9; 43 **Claythorne Lodge #9; 54** LaSada #9; 14 Smokey Valley #9; 51 2009 Kansas State FITASC & 5-Stand Tournament

Locust Point 139

Claythorne Lodge will pick a date for the Kansas State Sporting Clays Tournament and then Locust Point will follow with another date. Some discussion about the future of the FITASC & 5-Stand Tournament was held, and how the funds that have been reserved for that shoot would be used in the future.

New Business: Voting options for proposed KSSCA By-Law Amendments were presented, as the proposed amendments had not been mailed to all clubs, and national directors with the 15 day prior notification. A motion was mad to wave the 15 day notification and then seconded by Russell Bradley. With lots of discussion the motion about setting a special meeting to approve the proposed by-laws was withdrawn. Scott Williams then made a motion to set a date and forward the by-law information out for discussion and then voting. Larry Taylor seconded the motion, motion carried.

Open discussion Ron Reiber brought up questions about reload ammunition be allowed at KSSCA sponsored state shoots. After some discussion Ron offered to forward information that is used by trap, skeet and other sporting clays in other states. He also suggested that this be put to a vote by ballot so that shooters in the state could make a decision regarding this.

Russell Bradley also brought up questions about youth shooting in the state. It was brought up that Range Owners could apply for a grant program through the National Shooting Sports Foundation to help them with expenses for youth shooting.

Debra Taylor made a motion to adjourn the meeting and the motion was seconded. Meeting was then adjourned.

Respectively, Jan Koehler, Secretary